Accessorizing

There is a TJ Max where I live. It is a very interesting shopping experience. It took me a while to learn my way around the store but more importantly, I had to adjust my attitude and expectations in relationship to the store’s interface, product availability, and pricing structure. Definitely different from Macy’s, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, and my favorite motorcycle showroom.  Let’s say I am shopping for gloves. First of all, I might decide I would like a new pair of gloves, or someone might tell me, “You need a new pair of gloves.” So right off, some aspects of my upcoming shopping adventure are already framed.  These kinds of distinctions and parameters are not new to me. At an early age, my Mom taught me how to shop and I think she taught me well. She taught me the skill of shopping for the sake of shopping, and the patience, grace and attention to detail that turns shopping into an art form. And, I know that shopping can be an individual choice or a shared experience. Thanks Mom. Back to the gloves; on the same day I got my iPad from Best Buy, they had sold out of Apple brand iPad cases. But I kept going back every day and before the week was over, I had purchased my first iPad accessory. Ahhh, a good shopping experience. I didn’t comparison shop, I didn’t look for best price or sale items, I knew what I was looking for and found it.

According to The Next Web (http://thenextweb.com/apple/2010/04/30/5000-ipad-apps/) there are, at this time, nearly 5,000 iPad apps. Add to this, the 50,000 apps for iPhone and iPod Touch (most of which run on the iPad, at least I haven’t found any that do not), plus the music, books, and movies available and you have before you a shopping mall that could last for the rest of your life (or at least the life of the iPad). This only represents some of what you can put in the iPad and does not include what you can put on the iPad. I am looking forward to the hunt. Like many good shoppers, I am sometimes interested in sharing with pride, the excellent object recently acquired. Sometimes I am so excited about the great “find” I have discovered, I can’t help but show off a little.

Other times, I am subtle.

“Excuse me, what is that you have there?”

“It’s new. I found it at _____. Would your believe they had the exact same thing at _____ for _____? I just love the fit. If you want to try for yourself, you can probably find more at _____.”

“Where did you say you found it?”

“_____.”

And such is the case for our iPad shopping. It’s new.

Enjoy.

By the way, my Apple iPad case fits like a glove.

This entry was posted in iPad. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accessorizing

  1. Hi James,
    What a fun post! And I used that very same method you mentioned when looking at both yours and Mary Elizabeth’s iPad cases to size them up! Looking forward to mine arriving here soon.
    Mara

Leave a Reply

