iPad vs. laptop (or netbook)

I had a chance to visit an IU1 high school today – a visit to view an artist-in-residency in action with an art educator known to our AE2.0 project.   I also got to visit the photography classroom of another one of our participants.  While I thoroughly enjoyed seeing the amazing work of Chinese born artist, Hua Hua with the students to create personal Chinese lanterns, a conversation I had with one particular senior stuck in my mind.

While I was there, I brought out my iPad to show to the two art teachers.  They each had their chance to look and try it out.  A few students asked if they could see the iPad and enjoyed trying it too.  The senior I mentioned had lots of great questions for me – he’s apparently read a lot about the tool.

This young gentleman will be studying art in the fall at one of our local state schools, and wondered to me if you could manage with just an iPad.  Talking with him about what small bits I do know about the tool so far, I told him its nearly enough, but not quite.  I couldn’t imagine typing a paper on an iPad, for instance – at least not without an external keyboard.  I don’t think the Dragon voice app is quite there yet.  I also can’t imagine not having some way to add/remove files – not having a USB port or disc drive is a big shift in thinking for some professors.

So when I got back home today, I decided to do a little reading to see what others opinions are regarding having the iPad be your only technology tool.  Here are some interesting reads on the topic:

So based on these articles I’d have to say – the iPad comes “close” but is not quite there yet in terms of replacing some sort of computer, be it laptop, netbook or desktop, in the life of  a classroom teacher.  At least not quite yet.

This entry was posted in iPad and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to iPad vs. laptop (or netbook)

  1. Camille Nischal says:

    Seton Hill is giving away iPads to their students and faculty: http://www.setonhill.edu/ipad/ I am guessing this will impact recruitment efforts at colleges and universities…

Leave a Reply

