Hybrid Tablets

What if Apple developed a hybrid laptop that had an ipad that popped out of the screen? While researching the various digital tablets on the market I found a few hybrid tablets and netvertibles including the Lenovo IdeaPad U1.

The Lenovo IdeaPad U1 is a laptop with a screen that pops off. I thought this could be an interesting thing for Apple to consider doing to have an iPad and a laptop in one.

About Camille Dempsey, Ed.D.

Cultural Theorist - Educator - Educational Technologist - Media Strategist LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/camilledempsey/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/jcdempsey3
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hybrid Tablets

  1. Fascinating video – thanks for sharing this Camille! I don’t know how I’d feel about the Lenovo hybrid. One thing that stuck out for me was that red shell part of the case that was behind the tablet portion. My mind kept wondering about how easy it would be to break that – or the connector for docking the two pieces together. I also wondered about what it would be like to use Windows 7 on a tablet as well – being so familiar with Apple’s platform now, because of my iPhone and the iPad.

    While I do try to stay familiar with both operating systems because of the kind of work that I do, I must admit I prefer Apple’s operating system to Windows. My guess would be that schools which run mainly Windows environments will be most interested in this tablet/laptop hybrid. Like the speaker in the video said – it will also be interesting to watch what kind of apps are developed on both platforms. In the end, I think the tool that will “win” this battle will be the one that has the most features and choices.

    • Yes. Good point Mara. I was curious if Parallels could run on tablets/hybrids (like it does on a MacBook) since it allows you to use Apple stuff as well as run Windows if needed on the same machine. If the tablets/hybrids let you use both (with software or some other tool), that would be nice… Even though I have learned a lot about other tablets/hybrids having features that iPad doesn’t have, I still love my iPad and wouldn’t want anything else for myself. I too am a diehard Apple gal (although I also need to use both platforms with work).

      • Heading out to ISTE next week, I think I’ll make it a point to keep an eye out for other tablets. With so many vendors and such a huge gathering of gearheads, there are bound to be some of the other offerings available for some “look and feel!” I’ll try to do some comparative work and post about it here in the blog!

Leave a Reply

