Ouch, I think I bit my tongue.

You might not notice it at first since it seems like a regular part of your routine and then you remember, oh yeah, the first one was free.  It seems harmless enough, in fact it seems helpful. It’s not interfering with your work or your relationships and then one day you notice you’re hanging around with friends (maybe even new friends) and you seem to have that one thing in common. And gradually, very gradually, you notice you are spending your money, maybe just a little at first, and you think, oh I can afford this and I’m sure I have enough in my account. And what next? You want more. Maybe this time it will get me everything I want. Maybe this one is the complete answer to all that I have been looking for. I’ll just make this one last purchase and I promise, I promise, this is the last one. Yes, I’m talking from experience. Hello, my name is James and I’m an app addict. All together now, “Hello, James.” My story is not unique. Like so many others I started noticing that no matter where I was, the iPad was close by. And if I didn’t know where it was, I got a little nervous. I started to notice every solution could be found at my fingertips. A message? A phone number? A location? What’s on TV? Which product gets the best recommendations? Hey, I need to know what to buy. Yes, there’s an app for that. And my supplier…. Oh yeah, plenty of reminders about what is new and what is better and how easy everything is to have and use. Yes, I might be apdicted. But awareness is the first step so I am feeling okay. I’m not saying this will happen to you, I’m just saying, be careful out there.

Sent from my iPad

This entry was posted in iPad, iPad Apps. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ouch, I think I bit my tongue.

  1. Hi James. Thanks for your honesty! I particularly love your term “apdicted.” Did you make that up or did you find it somewhere? If it’s your creation, I suggest you coin the term asap. Is there an app for that yet?

  2. James. I very much enjoy your posts. Mara is right. What a great term! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Nothing on Wikipedia on appdicted…

    Perhaps this warrants a Wikipedia entry?

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=appdicted

Leave a Reply

