iWonder

Piloting the iPad for the Arts Educator 2.0 project has made me think deeply about how and why to use technology. My colleague Camille has spoken with great passion about the need for the transformative use of technology -not simply technology for technology sake. My colleague Leslie provided us all with a thought provoking resource raising the same questions, and all of the bloggers on this site have generously offered links, tips and resources. Today I spent several hours of devoted study following the links, checking out the aps and attempting to more deeply confront the question I have set out to explore: In what ways can an iPad transform an Arts classroom?

For some time now I have been tentatively choosing aps and accessories; attempting to guess what the arts teachers I will work with in September might find useful in their classrooms. Being a Theatre artist working with Music and Visual Arts teachers I have felt less than equipped to guess what might work for them. The word transformative nags at me. How can I possibly know what aps or tools would be transformative for their diverse classrooms?

Today it hit me that the key is to choose the tools that will become transformative for my work and model that process for my teachers; and so my inquiry now morphs to:
How can an iPad transform my work with my students?
With the teachers I facilitate?
Within the practice of my art form?

As a way to begin I am going to try using only my iPad today any time I would reach for technology. Should be interesting….

About Cory Wilkerson

Cory is a Free Lance Arts Education Consultant working with Arts Ed 2.0 and Project Manager for State Education Agency Directors of Arts Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to iWonder

  1. Great post Cory,

    I have been exploring part of your question in a course research project, “How does the iPad transform an arts classroom?” as a social justice issue…. It is frustrating to see already how the arts are excluded from access to the same technology tools as many other content area classrooms receive especially in light of the importance of art in developing 21st century skills (http://www.p21.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=953&Itemid=64). There is so much research on the benefits of technology in learning and the arts classroom should be a priority in receiving appropriate tech tools… The other day I was reviewing some research on digital tablets and I discovered this link: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/07/12/AR2010071204957.html about students who are doing some incredible science learning with the iPad. I am waiting in anticipation to see what great things creative art teachers will do with their students and the iPad…

    The challenge for me has been finding research on how the iPad is being used in the arts classroom. Because the iPad is still so new, there is still so much potential for how it can be used in arts rooms. Then there are also the barriers related to some arts teachers who do not want to change their methods or teaching strategies to include those that are suited to facilitating new technologies. I have been watching ArtEd2.0 closely to watch chatter on how arts teachers are/may be exploring iPad art apps: http://arted20.ning.com/ I am very confident as the ArtsEducator2.0 participants explore the iPad on their own and with their students that we will continue to see great progress with the iPad and the arts.

    Again, thanks for a great post!

    Camille

  2. coryarts says:

    The Washington Post link was incredible Camille. I have begun collecting some references as well – especially as I explore ways in which the unique characteristics of the iPad can inspire transformation. Check out this visual artist from Bogata Columbia who is using the iPad to add the dimension of mobility to his artworks:

Leave a Reply

