iGoogle????

Ok today I decided to take my office with me to Starbucks for my morning coffee. I am in the middle of some pretty intense work on a research item but the lure of my favorite caffeine fix was too much. No problem, I simply threw my smart phone and my iPad in my purse along with some journal articles (hard copy-I still need the tactile experience of placing yellow highlighter to paper when I am trying to process some materials) and off I went. I patted myself on the back because I had the foresight to place my documents in process in the cloud using Google docs so that I was truly mobile. I got to Starbucks and one grande latte and a journal article later pulled up my docs to edit only to discover that iPad will not let me edit a Google doc! Groan! I was lulled into complacency by my successful experience on Monday when I attended a board meeting using a Google spreadsheet to illustrate the salient characteristics of several musicals for the artistic committee. I was able to edit live during the meeting using my iPad. So I can edit a Google spreadsheet from my iPad but not a doc! Hmmmm…. see this link for confirmation of the problem.

About Cory Wilkerson

Cory is a Free Lance Arts Education Consultant working with Arts Ed 2.0 and Project Manager for State Education Agency Directors of Arts Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to iGoogle????

  1. Thanks for the heads up Cory. I’ve looked at GDocs on my iPad, and have been into spreadsheets as well – but I haven’t tried editing the docs yet. I’m glad to know of the limitation before I got myself into a situation where I really needed that capability!

  2. Cory, sorry to read of your discovery at Starbucks. I read some of the thread at the web address but did not see this workaround. Select the doc you wish to edit then under share, email it to yourself. When you get the file open it in another app. I recommend Office2 HD $7.99. You can edit and make changes. Of course the downside is having to copy and paste into google docs when you get back to your laptop but it is a solution when you are away from your desk. By the way, when I am using Safari on iPad I always choose the desktop version rather than mobile.

  3. Cory Wilkerson says:

    Thanks James- I did try the desktop version- didn’t help. :0(

Leave a Reply

