Follow-up to Kindle app woes

I am not alone.

I recently posted my frustrations about the kindle app for the iPad. I found a section of the book I’m reading that I really hoped to share with the teachers in my collaborative inquiry group on Friday. I was determined to find a way to get the book content off the kindle somehow. I failed. What I did manage to do was locate a number of websites where people are also critiquing characteristics of the Kindle (both the iPad app version and the hardware Kindle). Here’s what I found:

In my desperate attempt, I downloaded Kindle for my MacBook Pro. I thought maybe I could find a way to export text using Kindle on another device. Nope. This experience confirmed that my complaints are complaints about the Kindle in general–not just the iPad app.

So now my options to share a passage of this text with teachers are:

  • read it aloud to them (not great for folks who are not auditory learners, like me)
  • retype the section (huge time commitment, possible copyright infringement)
  • don’t share the passage (bummer…I could have done this so much more easily with a physical book!)
  • require all of them to buy the book on the iPad and then give them the location numbers (they will all have iPads but I’m not sure I want each of them to spend the money on the book at this point)
  • take screen shots of the pages and send them a number of images from which they have to read (what a pain, but may be my best option).

My attempt to look critically at the affordances and limitations of this app has made me realize that not only does the iPad have things it can and cannot do (or that Apple will/will not do), the iPad’s power is also dependent on the features embedded in all of these separate apps.

As a last word – thank goodness we didn’t buy the ArtsEducator 2.0 participants Kindles!

About Leslie Gates

I like colors without names.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Follow-up to Kindle app woes

  1. I was about to comment on the “take a screenshot” option, when I saw you had deduced that was the best work around. I must warn you ahead of time that once your daughter starts iPadding, and learns of the screen shot feature, your image folder will quickly become overloaded with pictures of everything from artwork in progress, to webpages, to particular moments in an iPad game. With several youthful friends in my world at the moment, I’m always surprised to see what I’ll find when I open up my photos folder!

Leave a Reply

